Browsing all articles tagged with Visitors
Jun
2

Knowing the Demographics of Your Website Visitors

Knowing the Demographics of Your Website Visitors

Demographics & Marketing

Demographics and promoting sources interact in the business world. Demographics allow you learn about and understand your customers (your visitors/your market). Promoting is an effort to sell to those customers.

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A demographic or demographic profile is a term used in promoting and broadcasting to describe a demographic grouping or a market segment. A market segment usually involves age groups ( e.g. Youths versus senior citizens ), social classes (e.g. wealthier groups who tend to spend more as opposed to poorer groups who have less to spend ) and sex ( e.g.

A demographic profile can be used to determine what type of web site content should be used to gain the most impressive results. It is vital the web-master tailor the internet site content to match the interests and wants of their visitors, and so careful research should be done to match the demographic profile of the target audience to the demographic profile of the internet site and its content.

Demographic and Selling Resources

Success on the Net is explicitly related to matching your internet site content to the people visiting your site. You’ll have to do your homework on this side of website design if you plan on reaching your visitors with your message.

The following links can provide you with the data you need to determine the market segment and demographic profile of your target audience.

Demographics.com – http://www.demographics.com – In depth site devoted to the entire field of demographics and related information.

Bureau of Work Statistics – http://www.bls.gov – With the strongest dedication to integrity and objectivity, the BLS is best among statistical agencies, manufacturing unprejudiced, timely, and accurate data relevant to the requirements of their users and to the social and commercial conditions of our Nation, its workers, and their families.

National Telecommunications and Information Administration – http://www.ntia.doc.gov – NTIA is happy to release Falling Through the Net : Outlining the Digital Divide. This is our 3rd report examining which Yankee homes have access to phones, PCs, and the Net, and which do not.

Massachusetts Institute of Technology – http://www.mit.edu/people/mkgray/net/ – need to know how enormous the Internet is? How snappy is it growing? Will it ever stop? These pages are supposed to be a collection of Web stats in one place.

U.S. Census Bureau – http://www.census.gov/ – Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.

Consumer Research Center – http://www.conference-board.org/economics/consumer.cfm – The Client Research Center provides members with access to consumer info, research, special reports and forecasts that help in day-to-day decision making and long-term planning.

U.S. SOHO Administration – http://www.sba.gov/starting_business/marketing/basics.html – to be successful, entrepreneurs must attract and keep a growing base of satisfied patrons. Promoting programs, though widely varied, are all aimed at convincing people to try out or keep using particular products or services.

Summary

Knowing who your visitors are and what their needs may be is the key to unlocking the riches of the Internet. Always pay attention to the demographics and selling of your internet site and success will be forthcoming.

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More Demographics Articles

May
24

7 Web Design Tips To Attract More Visitors To Your Site And Keep Them Staying

7 Web Design Tips To Attract More Visitors To Your Site And Keep Them Staying

Website design can be a hot topic for debate considering the many factors that go into making a good site. You want to make your website show up in the search engines, preferably on page one; and at the same time you want your site to be aimed at your visitors so that they stay on it for as long as possible.

Here are some tips that you should keep in mind when you design your website so that it is appealing and keeps visitors wanting more.

Web Design Tip # 1: Keep It Simple.

If you visit some of the best websites on the Internet, you’ll see one common thread running through each site, and that is they are kept simple. A cluttered site will confuse your visitors and they will leave, looking for something better.

Make sure it is pleasing to the eye by having a simple design. A simple design does not mean that it cannot be very beautifully done; it just means that it is not too busy and distracting. Take a look at other websites in your niche that are doing well. You will see that their design is simple yet appealing at the same time.

You also need to make sure that it is free of any errors because it would either consciously or subconsciously turn off your visitors. A website that is full of errors will be a complete distraction because the viewer will have his attention fixed on these errors whether he knows it or not.

Web Design Tip # 2: Keep It Quiet.

No matter how tempting it may be, do not have music playing on your site when it is first loaded. Most of the people that visit your site will move onto the next one as fast as they can as soon as they hear music blasting out of their speakers or into their headphones.

Similarly, a website that opens with somebody talking can be quite a turnoff to many people. You should instead consider having a control that can be used to turn on music if they want, or a video they can control for instructional material.

Web Design Tip # 3: Avoid Automatic Pop-ups.

Pop-ups can irritate a lot of people, and many visitors will just press x on the screen as soon as it opens. Although pop-ups are common these days, a site designed for the average consumer should not have a pop-up on the main page.

You are risking your reputation by putting pop-ups on a page, and may even be considered a spammer by some. If you are trying to build up a positive reputation in your niche, drop the pop-ups.

If you are building a subscriber list, you could either put an inline subscription form on your site, or use an exit pop-up so visitors can only view the pop-up once they leave your site (not while browsing).

Web Design Tip # 4: Make It Browser Friendly.

While many people use Internet Explorer, those that are using another search engine – such as Firefox – need to have the website open properly for them as well.

When you design your website you will need to test it on different browsers to make sure that it is compatible with some of the major ones. At the very least it should work on Firefox and Internet Explorer, but getting it to work on Safari and Opera should be a goal as well.

Web Design Tip # 5: Keep The Flash Away

Generally speaking, flash websites take longer to open and are not as search engine friendly as regular sites. If the website takes too long to open, the visitor will just head over to the back button, click it and then move on over to the next site.

Flash websites were popular when they first made the scene, and they can be very fancy and flashy; but they can be distracting and irritating at times.

If your focus is to impress visitors, then perhaps a flash website would be appropriate. But if your focus is to make money and build relationships (which is the aim of most website owners), then posting beneficial content and including some attractive graphics would do. Resist the temptation of using a flash site and remember to keep it simple.

Web Design Tip # 6: Make It Easy To Navigate

Good navigation is the most important feature you can have on your site. You need to make it as easy as possible for your visitors to make their way through your site.

You can set up links with an easy-to-follow path on your site for the visitor, and at the same time set up some SEO friendly linking. Keep the navigation as easy to follow as possible. If your visitors get confused about where to go next, they won’t go anywhere next and you would lose them.

Web Design Tip # 7: Use SEO Without Distraction

You have to maintain a careful balance between making your website appealing to both the search engines and your visitors. If you try too hard to make it search engine friendly, you may end up with a site that does not work for the general public.

Search engines generally love and appreciate any site that keeps the visitors in mind and is written for people, not machines. Proper SEO does not involve keyword stuffing or any other type of writing that is not written for the audience.

A good thing to do when you set up your site is to have it looked at by someone that understands website design. If you don’t know anybody personally, you can go to an Internet marketing forum and ask there. You can also offer to pay a small fee to someone that understands web design for a quick assessment.

If you are designing websites for off-line customers you will have a lot of requests for fancy sites based on your client’s limited knowledge of how a site should be put together.

You will need to talk to your customers and let them know in basic terms why they should avoid some things, and what they should do instead. You will need to present this carefully so that they fully understand what you are saying without feeling offended.

Keep these website design tips in mind when you are putting your site in order. Although they may seem simple, overlooking just one aspect of one of these tips can lose you a lot of visitors or customers in the end.

Related Web Design Tips Articles

Mar
21

Improve Web Site Visitors By Internet Marketing – Boost Internet Site Visitors By Article And Video Advertising

If you want to find out the best method to boost web site visitors, then read this article. It will give suggestions on how you can boost internet site traffic for much better profitability.Every businessman today probably has their own websites where they promote and promote their enterprise. In this web site, they feature their items and services within the hope of gaining a lot more customers. Nevertheless, a web site that aims to promote a company will in no way succeed in its promoting plans if it cannot generate a lot more site visitors. No matter how good the website is and no matter how attractive the internet design is, you’ll by no means achieve success as an on the web marketer could be the web site has extremely few visitors. Less visitors would mean that you might have much less opportunities of convincing much more folks to avail of whatever your enterprise is offering.Building a website for your enterprise isn’t enough. You also require to promote your web site so that a lot more folks who are constantly using the internet will have the idea that your web site exists in the huge highway of details such as the Word Wide Web. This is crucial since your web advertising plan would be flop if you fail to promote your web site.The greatest way to improve web site visitors is to do post promoting. Most of the on the web marketers today do this kind of strategy because this really is really cost efficient. Submitting to article directories is for free. Most of the directories and blogsites permit each and every businessmen who want to post articles related to their enterprise without monetary fees. As a businessman you just need to make certain that all articles are written well to ensure that it will pass their standards.By doing this, it will boost internet site visitors. When this happens, you might have much more folks visiting your site. It would be the ideal opportunity for you to introduce your items and services to them. Via the years, a number of businessmen have gained so much profits and sales, thus increasing their income simply because of post marketing.Write-up writing and post submission may be the only thing that you can do in Internet promoting, it is possible to also do video advertising which is increasingly becoming very popular these days. The concept of video advertising is similar to advertising in television, but you’re making use of the internet like a medium to reach your target market.In performing post and video marketing, you’ve to bear in mind that keywords and the links for your web site is very crucial. The backlink for your internet site is of vital important simply because this may be the finest way that people will be directed to the website where you publish your items and services. This is how you are able to effectively boost web traffic.

Mar
19

Who Owns Your Analytics Data? You, Your Visitors or Google?

Google announced an interesting new opt-out feature for Google Analytics today. From their blog:

Over the past year, we have been exploring ways to offer users more choice on how their data is collected by Google Analytics. We concluded that the best approach would be to develop a global browser based plug-in to allow users to opt out of being tracked by Google Analytics.  

At HubSpot, we often get asked whether someone should use Google Analytics. My typical response, when asked, is to say, “Why not? It’s free, and it measures different data and presents data differently than HubSpot’s marketing analytics.”  That has developed into the standard answer at HubSpot as we’ve trained more of our consultants and salespeople. As a result, many of our customers use our analytics tools and Google Analytics side by side. In fact, here’s a case study a partner just published that shows data from both tools.

But, I’m left perplexed regarding the purpose of this new opt-out feature.  For marketers, web site analytics is a key tool to help determine ROI of marketing activities and expenditures and help improve conversion paths on a site. It’s a key pillar of the inbound marketing methodology that enables businesses to convert visitors into lead and leads into sales. And the data that is important is the aggregate number of visitors and users on a site. The aggregate numbers and trends are what a marketer cares about. But, what happens if a decent percentage of visitors opt out of being tracked? 

  • Leads and sales can’t be tied back to marketing activities such as SEO, PPC, email marketing, social media, press releases, etc.
  • Visitor, page view counts, etc. become inaccurate. 

Furthermore, individual user’s personal data is not needed in order to draw marketing conclusions, and Google doesn’t actually collect personally identifiiable information through Google Analytics. They actually don’t allow you to do it either. From their terms of use

7. PRIVACY . You will not (and will not allow any third party to) use the Service to track or collect personally identifiable information of Internet users, nor will You (or will You allow any third party to) associate any data gathered from Your website(s) (or such third parties’ website(s)) with any personally identifying information from any source as part of Your use (or such third parties’ use) of the Service. You will have and abide by an appropriate privacy policy and will comply with all applicable laws relating to the collection of information from visitors to Your websites. You must post a privacy policy and that policy must provide notice of your use of a cookie that collects anonymous traffic data. 

If I were completely reliant on Google Analytics right now for my business, I’d be questioning who really owns my analytics data? Google? Me? Or my site visitors?

While I generally applaud Google’s significant efforts to help us little people maintain some vestige of privacy as we share more and more data with the borg, knowingly or not, I don’t understand the point of this move. Is this a trade-off that needs to made? 

It’s an interesting issue. I feel like I’m questioning God when I question Google. I’m not sure I have the right answer, either. But, Google’s move perplexes me, from the perspective of a marketer, especially.  What do you think?

Updated 10:08 AM – The Onion has a hilarious take on this one. 


Google Opt Out Feature Lets Users Protect Privacy By Moving To Remote Village (Found via bengriffithsme)

Update 10:20 AM - Patricio Robles from econsultancy says:

Needless to say, publishers using Google Analytics will probably not be thrilled at the prospect that certain data won’t be collected from a potentially larger number of users. After all, when it comes to web analytics, more is better for most publishers. 

Update 10:23 AM – Frederic Lardinois from ReadWriteWeb says:

If opting out of Google Analytics becomes a widespread phenomenon, this could have wide-reaching consequences for site owners. After all, having detailed analytics about your visitors allows site owners and publishers to tweak their marketing efforts. 

Update 10:25 AM – Matt McGee from Searchengineland gets a comment from Google

Webmasters may be concerned about losing the integrity of their Google Analytics data because it won’t be tracking as many web visitors…

…Asked about the impact on web site owners, Google Analytics Group Product Manager Amy Chang sounded unconcerned. “Analytics reports will continue to provide advertisers with robust and valuable data to help improve their websites and advertising campaigns,” she said via email.

Seems like a non-answer. 

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Download the free video to learn how to Measure the Effectiveness of Your Website.

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View full post on HubSpot’s Inbound Internet Marketing Blog

Mar
18

A Great Solution To Increase World Wide Web Promoting – Search Engine Marketing Web Advertising For Much Better Internet Visitors

If have to have tips so that you can have an improve Web advertising strategy, then read this. This post will let you know how to complete Search engine optimization Internet marketing.Most of the marketers over the web fail simply because they don’t have the basic knowledge on how you can be efficient in on the internet advertising. It should be the major goal of every businessman to generate much more targeted traffic to their website. Not getting in a position to increase internet traffic will eventually lead to less sales and income. This really is simply because if you’ve less individuals visiting your website, you will have less chances of getting in a position to introduce your products or services to potential customers.Having an elevated number of site visitors in your web site is imperative in the success of your marketing plan and most particularly to your business. When you are in a position to generate more site visitors to your web, then it is possible to constantly expect that you’ll have an elevated sales and income within the long run. The primary key in gaining a lot more web readers is to get high search engine rankings. That is one method to enhance Internet marketing.When you have a website where you promote all your products and services, you also require to promote that web site in order to gain visibility on the Web. The best way to accomplish this is through Search engine optimization Web marketing. It is possible to write content articles and submit them in post directories. Once you do this, make certain to include backlinks inside your content articles. By doing this, your web site will be in a position to enjoy the influx of much more readers.Search engine marketing can assist you within your quest to have better sales and income when you do it properly. You may need to write on the topics which are in line with your company. In your content articles, you need being able to create an impression that you might be an expert within your niche since this will aid make your prospective clients and buyers trust you. Earning the trust of the clients will make it simple for you to convince them to avail of what your company is selling.In writing for Search engine marketing purposes, you will need to make certain that your content articles are optimized with keywords. This will boost your search engine rankings. Use keywords and phrases inside the title. You should also distribute the keywords and phrases appropriately within the whole article body. The first paragraph, the last paragraph, and the middle with the article physique should contain these keywords and phrases. When you are able to do all these, you might be guaranteed to have attained an improve World wide web promoting strategy.

Mar
10

Buy Real Web Traffic Visitors Hits Popunder Advertising

Are You Getting Fake Web Traffic?

There are many scams out there to look for. For instance, if the traffic seems to be very cheap in price, then one of the following could be true:

The traffic could be generated by a script or program.

The traffic could be coming from an auto-surf exchange.

The traffic could be generated by spyware/adware programs.

The traffic could be auto-refreshed to rotate campaigns.

Generally you can tell if traffic is real or not by trace routing the IP addresses of the visitors. Fake traffic tends to have very high percentages of anonymous proxy addresses or dead-end/not-in-use IP addresses. If the traffic is being generated through an auto-surf exchange or if the traffic is being auto-refreshed, you will be able to tell by the length of the visits. If you see that the majority of the visitors are all staying for exactly the same duration of time, then odds are is that auto-surfing or auto-refreshing is to blame.

Something else to be weary about is low cost expired domain traffic. In this day and age, it is a very difficult task to get your hands on a domain that still receives a ton of traffic. This is due to the fact that major search engines, such as Google, pick these expired domains out of their search results as soon as they can. Why ? Because expired domains hurt the quality of their search results. However, it is possible to find expired domains that still get traffic from means other than search engines, but this breaks down to a pretty hefty CPM (cost per thousand) price.

For example, let say that you manage to find 10,000 expired domains that each still get 100 visitors a month.

10,000 * 100 = 1,000,000 a month.

1,000,000 * 12 months = 12,000,000 a year (12,000 CPMs).

Assuming that you’re paying a rate of $7 per domain for yearly registration, you’re spending:

$7 * 10,000 = $70,000 per year

That works out to:

$70,000 / 12,000 CPMs = $5.83 per CPM

That’s right, in our example the base CPM price figures out to $5.83! And that’s before any mark-up is added.

So if a web traffic supplier sells traffic hits at a rate of $3/CPM and tell you they are redirect traffic or expired domain traffic, you now know that they are not real expired domain hits.

Popunder web traffic advertising is now mostly use by genuine web traffic providers.

A pop-under is like a pop-up except that it loads underneath the current web page rather than over it.

This form of advertising is much more superior because it is less intrusive. Unlike pop-up windows that load over your web page, pop-under windows quietly load under your web page. Your visitors probably won’t even see the pop-under window until they’re finished at your site and close the window.

The effectiveness of pop-under windows most likely stems from the timing. When your visitor first enters your site, their mind is on what lead them to your site to begin with. Pop-up windows will most likely cause a higher percentage of your visitors to instantly close your window before viewing its content. That’s what makes pop-under windows more effective — your visitor is through visiting your site and their mind is clearer. They will be much more likely to take the time to look at your offer when they don’t have another objective on their mind.

Generating web traffic from popunder advertising is also very much cheaper then generating traffic from expired domain traffic and is the number one choice of most web traffic providers.

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Mar
9

New Conversion Rate Optimization Services Proven To Transform Website Visitors Into Repeat Customers

Many online businesses solely focus on website marketing campaigns that deliver increased amounts of traffic to a website, such as:

Generating increased website traffic is essential to the success of an online business but what must be realized is that attracting visitors to a website is only half the battle. No matter how successful your website marketing campaigns prove to be the bottom line is if your website is unable to convert those visitors into customers you will bleed profits and your return on investment will diminish.

“Companies that rely solely on website marketing techniques that drive traffic to their website are putting all their eggs in one basket that has a gaping hole in the bottom.”

SearchStrategist is proud to offer their clients a newly developed advanced methodology that capitalizes on all traffic that arrives on a website.

Through sophisticated landing page optimization techniques SearchStrategist is able to transform a website into a funnel that ushers traffic seamlessly from their point of entrance right through to the end goal which could be in the form of a sale, lead capture, membership / subscription sign up, etc.

The conversion optimization process will increase your conversion rate by 30%, 50%, 200%, 1000% or more. The website optimization process will also greatly enhance the overall usability of the website providing visitors with a much richer, more enjoyable experience that will help instill trust in your company and ensure that customers will continue to return to your website.

In order to achieve the highest conversion rate attainable a vast array of website variables must be perfected including:

Every single website enhancement is rigorously tested through a systematic series of A-B split testing and/or multivariate testing. The various webpage layouts will continue to be analyzed until the precise combination that delivers the optimal conversion rate is determined.

The end result of a professional conversion rate optimization campaign conducted by the experts at SearchStrategist will be a dramatic increase in profits. Businesses will also achieve a maximum return on investment through any other form of website marketing strategies being utilized to drive traffic towards a website.

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Mar
2

Does Your Search Engine Optimized Web Site Potray You As An Expert And Keeps Visitors Coming Back?

Although it is sweet to have SEO websites that are optimized for the search engines, the web sites also need to be educational to acquire patrons and keep visitors returning to the site. Having a website is step 1 in having a successful internet business. But if your site contains a handful of a bunch of ads, does not answer questions for visitors and does not provide them with the information that they seek, it is improbable that visitors will remain or will visit again. Good sites are those that provide valuable information and answer all questions for visitors. In in the competitive arena of web selling, it isn’t enough to just have an interesting and optimized internet site. The website has to provide content that is steadily updated to keep visitors returning. A great thing that you can do for Search Engine Optimization websites is to create a blog that connects to your website. Blogs are informal and simple to keep updated with steady posts that will answer current questions about the industry and provide necessary information. Never underestimate the power of bum promotion on your internet sites. Using articles on the internet site will make informative websites more bonafide and will answer the questions that people who visit the site need. Visitors to your site will most likely have questions that many others have that are typically asked. This will show your visitors that you not only have the answers but you also understand the questions! By using this aproach you will also set you sit appart for all the other sites that tell how great they are but never really answer the critical question. If people have to dig around to understand what you do, they won’t and click of your site fasterInternet marketing today employs the use of videos on the site as well as on free sites. This enables buyers to reach you with any questions that they don’t see on the FAQ page and also establishes an element of trust. This should be apparent on the first page of your site. Informative internet sites are those that answer all questions that visitors have when entering your site and will keep them returning. Good SEO web sites aren’t almost web marketing, but about providing visitors with information that they seek on the web. By providing this information to them in a selection of alternative ways, you can keep them returning to your site time after time and again again.Before you start go to Clickadvantage’s site for information on how to seo management and more on paid search marketing.

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